The Raw Café: Detroit

12 Feb

Hello everyone! Another Sunday, another post. I noticed that I have started a Sunday-only posting trend. Hopefully I can remedy that soon!

Last weekend, John and I met up with his family at Garden Bowl in Detroit. His sister, his mom’s husband, and John have birthdays on consecutive days. We all got together for the triad birthday celebration! Strangely enough, there was an organic, vegan, and raw café two doors down. HECK YES. I ran down during our second game to grab us some grub.

Rawcafe18

source

IMG 0923

I was a bit skeptical when I saw organic on the menu, but as I sat and waited for our order I could see various organic ingredients in the kitchen. Spices that we have in our own pantry. and organic cacao nibs. Delicious!

I ordered the collard wrap, which was filled with avocado, cabbage, broccoli. and a delicious garlic dressing. It was perfectly dressed, and so crispy!

IMG 0928

I ordered John the “spaghetti and meatballs.” This dish was actually zucchini noodles with nut based balls. ::giggles::

It was excellent, and he was nice enough to share!

IMG 0930

To finish our meal, I got us a slice of the raw apple pie to split. Split means John takes 2 bites and I eat the rest. Happy birthday? 😉

IMG 0924

This pie was made of dates, apples, cranberries, and spices. I think there was some raw sugar in there too. Holy yumminess! IMG 0922

I highly recommend The Raw Café if you are in Midtown! Located on Woodward, this café is fantastic!

4 Responses to “The Raw Café: Detroit”

  1. Melby 02/13/2012 at 6:43 am #

    I really wish I would have skipped the pizza….Your meals looked so much yummier!

  2. Amanda Collinson 02/13/2012 at 8:15 pm #

    That place looks delish! i love avocados and zucchini pasta! ❤

Leave a comment