Whole foods + Trader Joe’s Goodies

7 Jun

hello! first up, thanks so much to friends and family who have been so supported of this lil blog. πŸ™‚ this is something i have been wanting to begin for quite some time, and only recently gained the courage to do so. so far, so good!

i have to admit, i have a little bit of an obsession. i adore grocery stores. more specifically, i love whole foods and trader joe’s. i don’t even have to buy anything, walking up and down each and every aisle is enough. since the closest stores are an hour from us, it is a treat for me when i’m able to walk the aisles, surrounded by delicious and (mostly) healthy foods. since these stores are right by my family’s home, i stop there almost every time i visit. john doesn’t really understand grocery store “browsing” and so on sunday, after i dropped off my sister shelby, i had a chance to peruse the aisles.

since i just started the blog, i couldn’t help but get a few products to share with you all. some of these are ‘ol favorites. a few are brand new to me (and delish!). let’s get started…

peach mango and raspberry steaz!

these were on sale for $1 each at WF, and i bought john a green tea and lemonade flavor. he drank that yesterday on our way to the ray lamontagne concert(!!). he really liked it, and didn’t mind the truvia taste. i had a few sips and thought it was yummy!

heavenly raw macaroons

i spotted these at whole foods, and since i read such great things on kath’s blog, i decided to give em a try. this bag was also on sale, $3. i just ate two macaroons as i type this and they are sogood! not to mention raw!

if they would have slapped an organic label on this package, i think i may have passed out πŸ˜‰

next up, burritos for john. when we go on a big shopping trip at trader joe’s he usually stocks up on these. since i only wanted to grab a few things i stuck with one. he likes to smother these in salsa and guacamole!

i grabbed john two treats on my lil trip. one was this cookie from whole foods. alternative baking companyis an all vegan bakery that makes some kick ass cookies. they only have one type that is wheat free, but john can enjoy them all. i found this new to me flavor and had to get it for my coffee loving man.

how awesome are their labels? EXPLOSIVE!

john loves these cinnamon grahams, and i have to admit i have snuck a few here and there. they are delicious, but do not make me feel very well! anything containing wheat makes me sleepy, and if eat it consistently it weakens my immune system. boo!

this package will be gone by next week...

finally, almond butter. i cannot believe it took me this long to try TJ’s almond butter but boy it’s delicious. i made myself a ab+j sandwich for lunch today and it was perfect.

if you've never tried almond butter, hunt this one down!

what about you? favorite grocery store purchases? besides those listed above, i love so delicious’ coconut milk cookie dough ice cream, this granola, and snapea crisps!

8 Responses to “Whole foods + Trader Joe’s Goodies”

  1. Bee Goes Bananas 06/07/2011 at 10:47 pm #

    Hey! I just stumbled upon your comment at Kath Eats Real Food and thought I’d say hi! I’m not really “new” to the blogging world. I’ve been blogging on and off for about 8 months now, but my blog is still very small and has yet to expand. Anyway…I just thougt I’d say that I really like your posts and I look forward to reading more! πŸ™‚

    • ashleykaminski 06/07/2011 at 11:04 pm #

      hey girl! thanks so much for reaching out, you are my first commenter that i don’t know in real life!

      your blog looks great, i love the header! i’ll definitely be reading! πŸ™‚

    • Jenna 06/08/2011 at 6:32 pm #

      i’ll just say “ditto” to this comment, because i was going to say basically the same things. πŸ™‚
      also, i’m so jealous of your TJ finds! i wish i had one close!

      • ashleyatcookingforjohn 06/08/2011 at 7:47 pm #

        hi jenna, thanks so much for commenting! where do you live? TJ’s is slowly, but surely sweeping the nation!! πŸ™‚

  2. Gina 06/08/2011 at 5:49 pm #

    Hi, I just found your blog on Peas & Thank You! I am also from MI and just started a blog:) I, too, had been wnating to start one for some time. I’m from Cheboygan, but am now living in Seattle and love it! I look forward to following your blog! P.s. I love those vegan cookies you have pictured above…they’re dangerous!

    • ashleyatcookingforjohn 06/09/2011 at 12:34 am #

      hi gina! thanks a bunch for reading and for leaving a lovely comment!

      i am super jealous of your seattle lifestyle, do you love it out there? we are hoping to move out west in the next few years, not sure where yet.

      your blog is awesome, i love yoga but can’t afford many classes since it’s so expensive! luckily the studios around here offer a few free and $5 classes and one of them is tonight, yay!

      have a great thursday!!

  3. Katie 06/11/2011 at 5:32 am #

    Hey dear! I’m so proud of you for starting this! It’s awesome!!! I really miss having stores like Whole Foods! The commissary is waaaay lacking in health food options.

    So I was wondering how you figured out about the wheat issues?

    Keep up the awesomeness! Much <33!

    • ashleyatcookingforjohn 06/11/2011 at 11:28 am #

      hey darling! thanks so much for reading and leaving a sweet comment! i miss you!!

      that’s a bummer you don’t have access to lots of healthy foods, but i’m sure there are lots of fresh markets over there?

      two years ago i got some blood work done with my holistic doctor and that’s how he discovered the wheat issue. since deb has the same problem, and also sees my doctor, he wanted to test me for the same thing. that was also when i found out i have an under active thyroid, just like deb! yeesh. i was feeling really run down and out of it, obviously much better now!

      love you, we will talk soon!! :-*

Leave a Reply

