Trader Joe’s: cheapest groceries around

20 Feb

Hello! Anyone else out there obsessed with Trader Joe’s? We don’t have a T.J’s close by, but there is one right by my parent’s house. I always swing by and stock up when we’re in town.

IMG 0034

I love shopping at Trader Joe’s for three reasons…

1. Cheap, cheap, cheap

IMG 0598

Sometime last month, I stocked up and my bill was only $112.57 ! My parents were awesome enough to give us two $100 gift cards (I had already used one!) for Christmas, reducing my bill to $12.57. Awesome.

2. Unique products

Trader Joe’s is known for their unique selection of products. Sunflower seed butter, seaweed snacks, and my favorite almond milk all come from T.J’s.

IMG 0033

They also carry repackaged brand name products. Trader Joe’s is able to sell these items using the TJ’s brand at a lower cost. Read more about it here!

3. Awesome selection of healthy, vegan, and gluten free foods

Trader Joe’s carries tons of our favorite frozen meals, organic fruits and veggies, and even some delicious gluten free goodies!

Here’s the haul I got for a whopping $112.

IMG 0589

Organic orange juice, hummus, bananas, recycled paper towels, vegan fried rice, and gluten free corn penne pasta- just to name a few things.

Do you shop at Trader Joe’s? What’s your favorite product?

5 Responses to “Trader Joe’s: cheapest groceries around”

  1. Melby Drouillard 02/21/2012 at 9:21 am #

    I love their prices too Ashley….I gotta admit my secret desire (obsession)…. can’t stop eating them…Trader Joes triple ginger biscotti…so good!!

  2. Rebecca 02/24/2012 at 12:19 pm #

    I have yet to go to a Trader Joe’s (I know I know), but I’m really excited for the one that is coming to my city in the fall. Can’t wait!

    • ashleyatcookingforjohn 02/25/2012 at 7:49 pm #

      That’s so exciting! Where do you live? I live in Lansing, Michigan. There isn’t a TJ’s in my area, but there are a bunch as you head closer to Detroit and Ann Arbor.

  3. Ashley 03/03/2012 at 11:24 pm #

    Omg we just got a trader joes I’m so excited now !!

  4. elise 03/05/2012 at 4:46 pm #

    love TJs!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

