For Murphy.

15 Feb

Image

Late last night, my family lost one of their dear friends, our dog Murphy.

He was one of the sweetest pups I had ever had the pleasure of meeting. Image

It happened very suddenly, the doctor said his death was caused from blood collecting around his heart. I hope he didn’t suffer and wasn’t too scared, but there’s no way we can know. 

This is the first time I’ve had to deal with the loss of an animal and it’s really hard. I feel even worse for my Dad, he loved that dog like a son and has to be hurting more than I ever could.

Murphy, I’ll miss being greeted by a giant furball everytime I come back home.

I’ll miss taking you and Maggie (my dog) out to run amuck in the woods. Remember that time you both pooped in the neighbor’s yard?

I’ll miss the way you would lay your head into everyone’s lap when you cuddled.

I’ll miss chucking the ball for you, again and again, until you couldn’t find it. ;)

I’ll miss going into the garden with you, Dad, and Maggie. You knew just how to weave through the plants and where the best snacks were. Oh, and you loved to pee on all the vegetables. (I never told Mom.)

Thank you for being so sweet to me, and for being the best hair-covered brother we all ever had. More importantly, thank you for being the best furry- son Dad could ever ask for. We love you, and miss you.

Please send some positive thoughts our way, and hug the ones you love extra tight tonight. Feel free to leave any messages to loved ones you have lost in the comments section. 

Image

6 Responses to “For Murphy.”

  1. Melby Drouillard 02/15/2012 at 10:44 pm #

    Gosh Ashley…it’s hard to know what to say,except that I am so very sorry. Just know that I love you and what I just read up above, brought a tear to my eye. Please give my warmest and most sincere regards to your whole family. He was a good boy and dearly loved <3

    • ashleyatcookingforjohn 02/16/2012 at 9:03 am #

      thanks for your lovely comment. :) writing is definitely a great grieving tool, and I know everyone who knew and loved Murph would appreciate this post.

  2. Lyndsey Kaminski 02/16/2012 at 11:53 am #

    He was such a handsome man. His little face just makes my heart melt every time. The house feels so empty without his loving personality. :(

  3. Jessica Pham 02/20/2012 at 7:53 pm #

    Oh Ashley – I’m so sorry for your loss of Murphy. Losing pets can be so difficult, especially when it’s so sudden. We had that happen this summer with Elsie, so I only know too well what you’re feeling. Just remember he was loved for the time he was here.

    • ashleyatcookingforjohn 02/20/2012 at 10:06 pm #

      Thanks for your kind words, Jess! It is hard, but we are all doing much better. I think my Dad is going to take the most time to heal, but I’m glad that he loved Murphy so much.:)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

