Coconutty goodness!

22 Jan

Hello! How was your weekend? Mine was very relaxing (maybe too much so!)  I did manage to get in my 10 mile training run yesterday afternoon, but other than that it has been a weekend full of couch sitting and chocolate chip eating. Hehehe… ;)

Waaaay back in October, I contacted So Delicious in hopes of receiving some samples of their new Greek Style yogurts.  Gail was nice enough to hook me up, and I never got around to blogging about them. :( I received the package of yumminess right after we moved into our new rental home, I was still adjusting to my busy schedule.  I ended up eating them one by one, without reviewing the product.

Let me tell you- they were delicious! They were thick and creamy, and I didn’t find them to be too sweet. My favorite flavor was raspberry, but they are all great!  Keep in mind that these only contain a tiny amount of protein, much different than traditional greek yogurt, but they have a great thick consistency.  Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to find them at any of the health food stores around here. When we were visiting family last weekend, I scored some at Zerbo’s, an awesome health food store in Livonia.

As well as the yogurts, Gail was kind enough to send me 3 free product coupons! Score! Of course 2 were used on coconut milk ice cream (so insanely delicious!)

The last coupon was used for some cultured coconut milk, something I’d been dying to try but always held back due to the $5 price tag. Holy smokes, it’s worth every penny!

This stuff smells EXACTLY like yogurt, which I enjoyed so much before going (partially) vegan. It has the same tang- and is so dang good for you! I drank it straight up, used it with cereal, and used it as the base to many smoothies. John enjoyed it, and he hates coconut. :)

Some stats on coconut:

(source)

  • Coconut contains medium-chain saturated fats, which are burned faster than other fat sources. Medium-chain fatty acids are beneficial for your body, in particular the lymph nodes, and liver!
  • Coconut contains lauric acid which stops microbial growth. It also may help fight acne!
  • Everybody needs a decent amount of (healthy) fats in their diet in order to feel satisfied and to function at your best- coconuts are a great source!

So Delicious also makes some yummy coffee creamer, which I got my future mother-in-law hooked on! (Hi Melbs!)  They make several different flavors, and are even sold in many big box groceries! 

Obviously, I’m a huge fan of coconut. 

Coconut fan? Favorite coconut product? Share, share, share! :)

4 Responses to “Coconutty goodness!”

  1. elise 01/23/2012 at 12:00 am #

    i have yet to try the yogurts or the cultured milk or ice cream but your glowing review makes me want to consider them. you see, i wasnt a fan of the creamers that i tried because they didnt mix with coffee well at all (the flavor was good though).
    now im inrigued…

    • ashleyatcookingforjohn 01/23/2012 at 9:10 am #

      I prefer the cultured milk over the yogurt, but both are delcious. And the ice cream is fan-fricken-tastic!

  2. Melby 01/23/2012 at 6:41 am #

    Now I’m gonna have to try the milk and ice cream!!! I really really love the creamer. Right now I’m using the hazelnut flavor, but my favorite is the french vanilla! I think I would like to start getting into the smoothies. Thanks Ashley….you’re the best!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

