Emily’s Granola

1 Dec

 Hello! How was your Thursday? Mine has been great, and right now John and I are watching Beavis and Butthead.  We are a classy pair. ;)

Tonight I have a yummy granola recipe to share with all of you, and I’m most excited about it because I finally succeeded in making crunchy granola! I have tried to make granola before, but it always ended up chewy, even when I let it cool completely. 

I made this granola for my wonderful friend and co-worker, Emily. While we went to my cousin’s for Thanksgiving, Emily helped us out with our dog, Maggie. I told her I would repay her in food, and I finally got around to it during our snow day yesterday. 

Emily’s Granola

Ingredients

2 1/2 cups old fashioned oats

1/2 cup chopped raw almonds

1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

1/3 cup raisins

1/4 cup maple syrup*

1/4 cup brown rice syrup

1/4 cup peanut butter**

2 tsp vanilla extract

*I used this Maple syrup Agave Nectar blend from Trader Joe’s-  any liquid sweetener will work!

** I used chunky peanut butter- any nut butter will do!

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 300.
  • Combine oats, almonds, and coconut in a large bowl.

  • Pour syrups, vanilla extract, and peanut butter into a small sauce pan, and heat until well combined.

  • Pour wet ingredients into dry, mix well.

  • Spread your ‘nola onto a greased baking sheet, spread evenly. (Yes, I just referred to granola as ‘nola.)

  • Bake your granola for 30-35 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes to ensure even baking. I baked this batch for   about 35 minutes, but could have taken it out a minute or too sooner. It’s done baking when it has turned a golden  brown and your kitchen smells like a hippie convention. ;)

  • Place your pan on a wire rack, and allow granola to cool for at least 10 minutes, until it’s wonderfully crunchy! Once cool, you can toss in your raisins.

Feel free to modify this recipe with whatever you have on hand. Chocolate chips would have been great- just make sure you add them after your granola cools. 

I love to eat granola with some soy or almond milk yogurt + a giant blob of peanut butter and a banana. Enjoy!

Have you made granola before? What ingredients did you use?

2 Responses to “Emily’s Granola”

  1. elise 12/06/2011 at 12:47 pm #

    everyone loves a hippie convention! right??

  2. elise 12/06/2011 at 12:48 pm #

    ps try my quinoa granola!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

